Winners of the 2014 Sydney Comedy Festival Awards

Awards 2014 - Luke McGregor Thumb

On Saturday 17 May, the 10th annual Sydney Comedy Festival drew to a close with the Festival Wrap Party and the announcement of its 2014 award winners which saw David O’Doherty, Ronny Chieng, Luke McGregor and Sam Simmons taking out top honours.

Well known for his performances with a miniature electric keyboard, Irish comic David O’Doherty continued his comedy rein and was presented with the Best of the Fest International award for his show, David O’Doherty Will Try To Fix Everything.

 Ronny Chieng Award

(Ronny Chieng, winner of 2014 Best Of the Fest Local award. Photo: Anneliese Nappa)

After selling out his entire Australian festival season run and taking out the Director’s Choice Award at the 2014 Melbourne International Comedy Festival (MICF), Ronny Chieng wowed Sydney audiences with his show, Chieng Reaction and received the Best of the Fest Local award.

 Luke McGregor Award

(Luke McGregor, winner of 2014 Best Newcomer award. Photo: Anneliese Nappa)

Confirming that he is a rising talent to watch, Tasmanian-born comedian Luke McGregor took out the Best Newcomer award at the 2014 MICF and was again presented with the prestigious award at the Sydney Comedy Festival for his show I Worry That I Worry Too Much.


Rounding out the award ceremony was the Director’s Choice award, which was personally presented by the Sydney Comedy Festival director Jorge Menidis to Sam Simmons for his hugely popular show at the Festival, Death of a Sails-Man.

This entry was posted in News Blog.
Square Banners